Sakon Nakhon

Quick Facts:

  • Location: Northeastern Thailand
  • Status: Province
  • Population: About 1,123,351
  • Area: About 9,605.8 square km
  • Telephone area code: 066-047

Lying on the Khorat Plateau adjacent to Nong Han Lake, the largest lake of northeastern region of Thailand, Sakon Nakhon is a Buddhist and temple town. It covers the entire tambon of That Choeng Chum and some parts of tambons Huai Yang, Ngio Don, That Na Weng, Dong Mafai and Hang Hong. The province is 647km from Bangkok, occupies an area of 9,605 square kilometers and is divided into 18 amphoes.

Sakon Nakhon has its history dating back since three thousand years ago. According to legend, Nongham town, now Sakon Nakhon, was constructed in the 11th century when Khmer dominated the region. The town became under the control of Lanxang (Laotian Kingdom) after the Khmer had lost their power. It was then renamed “Muang Chiang Mai Nongham” and had its name “Sakon Thavapi” under the Siamese Kingdom in 1830. Until the domination of King Rama III, the province was named “Sakon Nakhon”.

Sakon Nakhon has been known as a quiet tourist destination with Buddhist temples, forest temple retreats for meditation and many attractions reflecting its fascinating past, alluring present and exciting future. Some of popular ones are Phra That Choeng Chum, Nong Harn, The museum of Archan Man Purithattha Thera, Sapan Khom, etc. Sakhon also have peaceful natural environment with beautiful natural attractions in Somdej Phra Srinagarinda Park, Freshwater Fish Aquarium, The 60th anniversity of Her Majesty the Queen Park, etc. Those who are interested in local culture can pay a visit to the silk and handicraft villages as Ban Kud Na Kham Arts and Crafts Centre, Ban Charn Arts and Crafts Centre, Ban Pan Mor pottery village and Wha Yai Weaving Village, etc. It is also home to several interesting festivals in cluding So Ram Luk Festival, Wax castle procession, Boat race, etc with exciting activities and entertainment performances.

Other Thailand Destinations

All Contents of this website are © 2010